Leonie\’s English Journal

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Mollie October 1, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — Leonie K. @ 7:22 am

According to me the character of Mollie symbolizes those people in the Russian revolution that didn’t fully support Lenin or Stalin but which were quite content of their life before the revolution.

I think Mollie left voluntarily. She probably went somewhere were she could wear ribbons and eat sugar.

She didn’t betray Animal Farm; I think it just wasn’t her world or the way she wanted to live. She simply searched for her own utopia. Seen from a distant point of view, I wouldn’t call this betraying. She didn’t do any harm to anyone but didn’t share the animal’s ideas either.

Is it wrong for Mollie to wear ribbons and eat sugar? No. It is one of her desires, something that makes her happy and she should be allowed to get. Probably many other animals on the farm would like something similar. I guess that seeing Mollie with ribbons and eating sugar made the other animals think she was turning “human”. But the pigs do exactly the same thing. If wearing ribbons is becoming human than reading is as well. I mean where is there division of what makes one human or not?

 

6 Responses to “Mollie”

  1. carlottabarb Says:

    Yes,you are totally right!!! Mollie does not betray the farm, she just decided to go away, she was different from the others,I think she was the only one who followed her heart and did what she really desired! I think Mollie represents the “upper-classes” in this book, she represents luxury!! She probably felt like wearing ribbons and eating sugar all day long,and thats what she did,without getting influenced by the commands of the pigs…and thats why I admire her as a character!!!

  2. lloydso Says:

    I agree in some points and dissagree in others.
    I think it is wrong for her to have left beertaying animal farm because she didi in the end beetray all her friends in the farm.
    Your right on saying that mollie can decide for herself but when the animals decided that they wanted to revolt she should have speaked up if she was countrary! Thats what lloyd thinks

  3. lorenzosa Says:

    I totaly agree with you, because Mollie is the only one that followed her ideas and her heart!

  4. jasminerow Says:

    I agree with you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    You are so right cause Mollie did not betray animal farm!!!!

  5. laviniasal Says:

    I think this is right. Mollie didn’t betray Animal Farm.

  6. […] I didn’t really like my name when I was growing up. I would always try to change the spelling: “Mollie” or “Molli” or I think I even once tried to spell it “Mali” – yeah, like the country. […]


Leave a comment